Skip to product information
1 of 1

Graphix

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel by Christina Soontornvat, Joanna Cacao

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel by Christina Soontornvat, Joanna Cacao

Regular price $12.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $12.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

New Paperback

STAND TALL.

BE LOUD.

GAME FACE ON.

This pitch perfect graphic memoir about courage and competition, friendship and belonging is perfect for fans of Smile, New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

“A captivating middle-grade gem.” ― The New York Times Book Review

“Funny, relatable, and genuine.” ― Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Captures every nuanced emotion.” ― School Library Journal, starred review

“Genuinely nail-biting.” ― Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Cringe-worthy in the best possible way…inspiring and insightful.” ― Shelf Awareness, starred review

“Delightfully expressive…a standout.” ― Booklist

“Illustrated and told in a way that every middle school student can relate to. Captures the poignancy of the emotional rollercoaster that [they] experience every day.” ― School Library Connection, recommended

When cheerleading tryouts are announced, Christina and her best friend, Megan, literally jump at the chance to join the squad. As two of the only kids of color in the school, they have always yearned to fit in―and the middle school cheerleaders are popular and accepted by everyone. But will the girls survive the terrifying tryouts, with their whole grade watching? And will their friendship withstand the pressures of competition?

Hilarious and highly relatable, The Tryout by two-time Newbery Honoree Christina Soontornvat and shining new talent Joanna Cacao will make you laugh, cry, and cheer!

View full details